Skip all navigation 
and jump to content Jump to site   
    navigation Jump to section navigation
Jump to current   
   event information
NASA Logo - Goddard Space Flight Center    + NASA Homepage
 return to home page
TRMM introduction TRMM news TRMM PUBLICATIONS LISTS SEARCH TRMM TRMM CONTACTS TRMM science data ordering NASA IMAGE POLICY
Wednesday 9 March
MORE TORNADOES OVER THE SOUTHERN UNITED STATES
The TRMM satellite flew over tornadic thunderstorms for the second time in less than a week on 9 March 2011 at 1208 UTC ( 6:08 AM CST). By 1652Z (10:52 AM CST) NOAA had received 9 tornado sighting over Louisiana, Alabama and Florida. A precipitation analysis from TRMM's Microwave Imager (TMI) and Precipitation Radar (PR) (in the lighter swath) again showed extremely heavy rainfall near tornadic activity. TRMM's Precipitation Radar (PR) data were used in the image on the upper right to show a 3-D slice through a possible tornado. Click to see a FLYBY movie of the 3-D slice through the tornado.

Saturday 5 March
TRMM SEES DEADLY LOUISIANA TORNADOES
The TRMM satellite was flying high over head when it passed above tornadoes occurring in the state of Louisiana on 5 March 2011 at 1411 UTC (8:11 AM CST). The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) reported that seven tornadoes were spotted in Louisiana on that date. These tornadoes caused at least 15 injuries and one death with a tornado that hit in the northwest section of Rayne, Louisiana. The image on the left above shows a precipitation analysis using data collected with that TRMM orbit. TRMM's Microwave Imager (TMI) and Precipitation Radar (PR) (in the lighter swath) showed that extremely heavy rainfall was falling from these storms.

The image on the right above shows a view from the east using TRMM Precipitation Radar (PR) data. This 3-D slice through the storm shows that one of these powerful tornadic thunderstorms had intense echoes reaching as high as 15km (~9.3 miles). Click to see a FLYBY movie of the 3-D Precipitation Radar image.

Images and Captions by Hal Pierce (SSAI/NASA GSFC)

FirstGov logo + NASA Privacy, Security, Notices NASA logo

Curator: Harold.F.Pierce@nasa.gov
NASA Official: Dr Scott A. Braun
Last Updated: Thursday March 10, 2011

NASA Home Page alt="Goddard Space Flight Center Home Page">